To Stop a Nosebleed Right Away Head to Your Freezer

freezer cold packWe had a nosebleed at my house last night.  You know, one of those gushers that won’t stop no matter what you do.  I remembered that the night before I had seen on Pinterest (did I mention how much I love Pinterest?) that you can stop a nosebleed right away by putting keys or a metal spoon that had been left in the freezer on the back of your neck.  Well, I hadn’t put any keys or spoons or anything else that was metal in the freezer, but I did have a freezer/cold pack.  I took it out, put it directly on the back of the neck and voila! after about 30 seconds, the nosebleed stopped.  Apparently the cold constricts the blood vessels to stop the bleeding.  I was a little worried that it would “wear off” and the nosebleed would start again, but it didn’t.  So, the next time we have a nosebleed in my house, I’m heading right to the freezer.  I think I’m going to stick to the cold packs though, I don’t need anything else in my freezer.  🙂

You can find this and other home remedies at Tipnut.

This entry was posted in Information and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to To Stop a Nosebleed Right Away Head to Your Freezer

  1. dblack15 says:

    it worked for my 16 year old

  2. fuzzysdoll says:

    I’m here because I just read one of those little end-story humor things in Reader’s Digest about that very thing.
    “We were about to leave home to have dinner with some friends when I suffered a nosebleed, so my wife put an ice-cold spoon down the back of my neck. The bleeding stopped and we set off, the spoon forgotten. At the end of the evening, we were saying goodbye to our friends when the spoon suddenly slid down my trouser leg and clattered over the front steps with as much noise as if it were a complete place setting.
    “We don’t know if our explanation was accepted. All we do know is that we haven’t been asked back since.”
    F. L. Drinkwater

Leave a Reply

