Playing with Your Food ~ Hungry Happenings

It’s Food Friday and I think we should spend a little time playing with our food.  I want to introduce you to Hungry Happenings, a site that definitely makes food fun. 

Take for instance the “chocolate chalkboards” she came up with that can be used for just about anything but is perfect if you are planning a Superbowl party (or taunt your friends who are rooting for the opposite team).

Hungry Happenings Football Chocolate Chalkboards

If the chalkboard project seems like more than you’re willing to tackle, don’t worry, the food projects on the site range from fairly simple to more advanced.  Take this deviled egg daisy.  It’s easy to make and I love her idea of putting the egg filling in the middle of the plate (although the filling is my favorite so I can’t guarantee there would be much left for everyone else if I did it this way).

Hungry Happenings Deviled Egg Daisies

This site has really made me think about presenting food in a new way.  One of my favorites is the “Spa mask” dip.  So cute and really easy to make.  I can see bringing this to a party and impressing my friends (although my secret is out now on how to do it!)

Hungry Happenings Spa Mask Dip

If you’re more ambitious these polar bear cookies are too cute for words.  I would love to see how they turn out if you give them a try.

Hungry Happenings Polar Bear Cookies

Here are a few other projects that caught my eye that you might like:

Starfish Smores

Chocolate Caramel Apple Cauldrons

Hungry Happenings Chocolate Caramel Apple Cauldrons

Sleeping Bag Wraps

Hungry Happenings Sleeping Bag Wraps

Each project includes step by step instructions and lots of pictures of what it’s supposed to look like to help you along the way.  This is a great site if you are just looking for a few easy party pleasers, if you’re an expert yourself, or if you are just starting out and want to learn how to work chocolate, fondant, and the like.  I highly recommend subscribing to the site and don’t forget to subscribe to Unsolicited Advice while you’re at it.

All pictures are the property of Hungry Happenings.

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Playing with Your Food ~ Hungry Happenings

  1. Thanks for the glowing review of Hungry Happenings. I really appreciate all your kind words and the links to my recipes.

    Have a sweet day, Beth

  2. My pleasure! I love your your site and your creativity!

Leave a Reply

