Food Friday: “Skinny” Recipes

Eating healthy is hard for me because I like food.  I like yummy, tasty food and finding food that has flavor and is still low in calories has been one of my biggest challenges.  I stumbled across Skinny Taste and decided to give a few of the recipes a try and to my delight I’ve found food that is yummy, tasty and low in calories.

My absolute favorite is the steak and cheese sandwiches.   I deviated from the recipe slightly by deglazing the pan with white wine and sautéed the mushrooms in it.  It added a few calories but is delicious.  Other than that, I followed the recipe faithfully and my family loved it.  It’s 350 calories including the bread, but not my addition of the wine.

Skinny Steak & Cheese Sandwiches with Onions & Mushrooms The second recipe in my top three is the chicken & mushrooms in garlic white wine sauce. This recipe does call for white wine (hmmmm I’m sensing a theme here) and is easy to make and full of flavor.  Oh, and did I mention that it’s only 169 calories?

Skinny Taste Chicken & Mushrooms in White Wine Sauce Rounding out my top 3 is the baked chicken rollatini with spinach alla parmigiana .  My boyfriend is Italian and grew up with good Italian cooking, which let me tell you, is not light or low in calories.  I wasn’t overly hopeful when I tried this but we were pleasantly surprised by how delicious it was. Tasty Italian at less than 200 calories!  Woo hoo!

 Skinny Taste Baked Chicken Rollatini with Spinach alla Parmigana

 You can find “skinny” versions of recipes for most genres of food on the Skinny Taste site.  This is one of my favorite recipe sites.  I recommend subscribing to the blog so you’ll be alerted by email when new recipes are posted.  While you’re subscribing to blogs, take a moment to subscribe to Unsolicited Advice.

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

